PHYKOS - Official Journal of Phycological Society, India


Phycological Society, India, was formed with the object of promoting interest and studies in various branches of Phycology and to publish a journal. The journal was named Phykos and the fist volume came out in April 1962. This volume contained articles eminent phycologists viz., Prof. M.O.P. Iyengar, Prof. G. Papenfuss, Prof. K.V.N. Rao, Dr. M.S. Randhawa, Prof. M.R. Suxena, Prof. P. Bourrelly, Dr. G.S. Venkataraman, Dr. S.G. Mehta, Dr. S.K. Goyal,  Mr. K.R. Ramanathan and Prof. V. Krishnamurthy. An executive committee was constituted with Prof. M.O.P. Iyengar as the President and Dr. G.S.Venkataraman as Secretary. Dr. M. S. Randhawa, Prof. T.V. Desikachary, Dr. G.S. Venkataraman served as President and Chief-Editors.

Editorial Board

Chief Editor: Prof. N. Anand                              
Associate Editor: Prof. R. Rengasamy                       
Assistant Editor: Dr. V. Sivasubramanian                

Members of Editorial Board

Prof. S. Shanmugasundaram      
Prof. G. Subramanian                   
Prof. A.N. Rai                              
Dr. S. S. Apte                               
Dr. Sebastian Thomas                 
Prof. L.C. Rai                               
Prof. S. P. Adhikary                       
Prof. A. S. Ahluwalia                     
Prof. V. K. Anand                          
Prof. J. L. Tarar                             
Dr. Dinabandhu Sahoo                 
Prof. B. B. Chaugule                      
Prof. S. B. Padhi                           
Prof. G. Subbarangiah                  
Dr. M.N. Jha                                 
Prof. P.K. Misra                            
Prof. M.V.N. Panicker                   
Prof. S. P. Hosmani                       
Prof. S. P. Pingle                           
Prof Jaysree Rout                          


Prof. V. Krishnamurthy, Chennai           
Prof. G. Ragothaman, Surat
Prof. N. N. Noor, Ranchi                         
Prof. Nomita Sen, Jabalpur
Prof. S. P. Singh, Varanasi                       
Prof. M. Umamaheswara Rao, Visakhapatnam
Prof. D. N. Tiwari, Varanasi                     
Dr. K. Subbaramiah, Nellore
Dr. L. V. Venkataraman, Mysore             
Prof. Pushpa Srivastava, Jaipur
Prof. V. N. Raja Rao, Bangalore         
Prof. E.K. Ganesan. Chennai
Dr. S. K. Goyal, Delhi                               
Prof.. B.D. Kaushik, Delhi
Dr. N. Jeeji Bai, Chennai                      
Prof. G. L. Tiwari, Allahabad

National Conference on "Recent Advances in Algal Biotechnology":

Phycological Society, India and Centre for advanced studies in Botany, University of Madras, Chennai jointly organize a National Conference on " Recent advances in Algal Biotechnology" during 16 and 17th February, 2012. Click here for more information