PHYKOS - Official Journal of Phycological Society, India


Phycological Society, India, was formed with the object of promoting interest and studies in various branches of Phycology and to publish a journal. The journal was named Phykos and the fist volume came out in April 1962. This volume contained articles eminent phycologists viz., Prof. M.O.P. Iyengar, Prof. G. Papenfuss, Prof. K.V.N. Rao, Dr. M.S. Randhawa, Prof. M.R. Suxena, Prof. P. Bourrelly, Dr. G.S. Venkataraman, Dr. S.G. Mehta, Dr. S.K. Goyal,  Mr. K.R. Ramanathan and Prof. V. Krishnamurthy. An executive committee was constituted with Prof. M.O.P. Iyengar as the President and Dr. G.S.Venkataraman as Secretary. Dr. M. S. Randhawa, Prof. T.V. Desikachary, Dr. G.S. Venkataraman served as President and Chief-Editors.

Editorial Board

Chief Editor: Prof. N. Anand                              
Associate Editor: Prof. R. Rengasamy                       
Assistant Editor: Dr. V. Sivasubramanian                

Members of Editorial Board

Prof. S. Shanmugasundaram      
Prof. G. Subramanian                   
Prof. A.N. Rai                              
Dr. S. S. Apte                               
Dr. Sebastian Thomas                 
Prof. L.C. Rai                               
Prof. S. P. Adhikary                       
Prof. A. S. Ahluwalia                     
Prof. V. K. Anand                          
Prof. J. L. Tarar                             
Dr. Dinabandhu Sahoo                 
Prof. B. B. Chaugule                      
Prof. S. B. Padhi                           
Prof. G. Subbarangiah                  
Dr. M.N. Jha                                                            
Prof. M.V.N. Panicker                                          
Prof. S. P. Pingle                           
Prof Jaysree Rout                          


Prof. G. Ragothaman, Surat                        
Prof. Nomita Sen, Jabalpur
Prof. S. P. Singh, Varanasi                       
Prof. D. N. Tiwari, Varanasi                     
Dr. K. Subbaramiah, Nellore             
Prof. Pushpa Srivastava, Jaipur
Prof. V. N. Raja Rao, Bangalore         
Prof. E.K. Ganesan. Chennai                                
Prof.. B.D. Kaushik, Delhi
Dr. N. Jeeji Bai, Chennai                      
Prof. G. L. Tiwari, Allahabad

Prof S K Goyal : Obituary

We record with great  sorrow the sad news of the sudden demise of Dr. S. K. Goyal,  Principal Scientist (Retd) National Centre of Conservation and Utilization of Algae, IARI, New Delhi, former Chief Editor, Phykos and Secretary and Treasurer, Phycological Society, India on 28th October 2018. Dr. Goyal was the pioneer to do research on BGA- Biofertilizers and Azolla Biofertilizers. His contributions in the 1980-1990s have culminated in the present day modernizing agriculture in the name of organic farming. Dr. Goyal’s tenacity saw the continuous publication of the journal Phykos the official journal of Phycological Society of India founded by Prof. M.O.P. Iyengar in 1961. On behalf of the President, Office bearers and members of the Phycological Society, India I convey our heartfelt condolences to the family members. May  his soul rest in peace !

Prof. N. Anand, Chief Editor, Phykos

Prof. T. V. Desikachary Birth Centenary:

 It is planned to celebrate the Birth Centenary of the Legend of Indian Algology Prof. T. V. Desikachary during 18-21 September, 2019 by conducting an International Symposium on Biodiversity, Biology and Biotechnology of Algae at the Centre of Advanced Studies in Botany, University of Madras, Chennai - 600 025.  Await